Central College News

Beatriz Mate-Kodjo ’11 Receives Alumni Leadership Award

Featured: Beatriz Mate-Kodjo ’11 Receives Alumni Leadership Award

April 27, 2023

The Iowa and Minnesota Campus Compact announces Beatriz Mate-Kodjo ’11 as the 2023 Engaged Campus Award for Alumni Leadership award winner.

Mate-Kodjo is a civil rights attorney at BMK Law Firm in Pella, Iowa. She primarily practices in employment and education discrimination. Her work focuses on representing marginalized individuals while building better systems and a stronger community. She pursues her passion for justice and minority representation as the first Black female civil rights attorney in Pella.

“Beatriz is very deserving of this award. In her civil rights work for students and underserved individuals, Beatriz has been a voice for the voiceless,” says Mark Putnam, Central president. “As an engaged alumna, she offers her knowledge and passion to our students and advisory boards. Beatriz brings a valued perspective to Central College to ensure we sustain a welcoming and inclusive campus.”

Mate-Kodjo volunteers with Central’s National Advisory Council, where she brings valuable knowledge and experience as a civil-rights attorney. She supports current students who are leading social justice initiatives and served as a Women’s Leadership Conference panelist in the fall. Students appreciate her energy and enthusiasm as a bilingual mentor who wants to improve equity and diversity in Iowa.

She earned a Juris Doctorate and a master’s in business administration from Drake University. She is the daughter of Paloma Soria Sepulveda, former Central adjunct instructor, and Samuel Mate-Kodjo, professor of Spanish at Central since 1995. She graduated from Central with degrees in Spanish and international studies with an emphasis in African studies.

The Iowa and Minnesota Campus Compact Engaged Campus Award for Alumni Leadership recognizes an alumnus from a member institution making strong contributions to their community and demonstrating the values of the civic mission of higher education. The award winners are listed on the IAMNCC website.