Central College News

Central College Announces 2022 Geisler Penquite Scholars

Featured: Central College Announces 2022 Geisler Penquite Scholars

September 27, 2022

Central College’s education program has announced its 2022 Geisler Penquite Scholars.

The Geisler Penquite Foundation honors and supports exceptional students in the college’s education program who exhibit academic success, progress in the program, and potential for leadership in the field of education.

The Geisler Penquite Scholarship was established by Harold and Mavis Hobbs Geisler, named honorary alumnus in 2000, and Cecil Geisler Penquite and Loren Penquite in honor of their parents, John Edward Geisler and Gertrude Setzer Geisler. The family also endowed the college’s Geisler Library.

The 2022 Geisler Penquite Scholars are:

  • Nolan Brand of Mount Vernon, Iowa.
  • Lindsey Davidson of Northwood, Iowa.
  • Sophia Egli of St. Charles, Iowa.
  • Taryn Hintz of Primghar, Iowa.
  • Kate Hoogensen of Ankeny, Iowa.
  • Shanna Hudson of Morrison, Illinois.
  • Savannah Neil of Pella, Iowa.
  • Blake Recker of Pella, Iowa.
  • Addison Six of Washington, Iowa.
  • Kole Tupa of Center Point, Iowa.

Each of this year’s 10 scholars are from the Class of 2024. They join 13 previously awarded Geisler Penquite Scholars at Central. Scholars each receive approximately $5,000 each year for their junior and senior years. In return, they represent the education department with prospective student visits, conduct research and/or help develop new education department initiatives.

“The impact that the Geisler Penquite Foundation has made on the field of education is truly immeasurable,” says Jen Diers, associate professor of education and director of Central’s education program. “To date, seventy students have been awarded the Geisler Penquite Scholarship. When you consider the number of k-12 students that those seventy students will in turn impact, it is such an incredible legacy being left by the Geisler and Penquite families! We are continually grateful for the foundation’s generosity.”