Central College News

Central Announces 2020-21 Student Senate Officers

Featured: Central Announces 2020-21 Student Senate Officers

June 11, 2020

Central College has announced the names of the Student Senate executive officers for the 2020-21 academic year:

  • Aiyana Rouse has been elected Student Senate president. A biochemistry major from Glendale, Arizona, Rouse will graduate in 2021.
  • Tylor Obermeyer, a business management major from Papillion, Nebraska, is the new senate leader. He also is in the Class of 2021.
  • John Horner of South Sioux City, Nebraska, will serve as the senate’s parliamentarian. A member of the Class of 2021, he is majoring in mathematics.
  • Madolyn Clark of Clarinda, Iowa, takes the role of treasurer. She is a biochemistry major in the Class of 2022.
  • Payton French of Sioux City, Iowa, a rising sophomore, will assume the role of secretary.

Central’s Student Senate seeks to establish an effective and representative government for the students of the college. The senate implements policies that benefit all Central students and strives to encourage collaboration between faculty, administrative staff, student senators and students.

The senate is elected by its peers to help make the student connection to administration, faculty, staff and the college’s board of trustees. The creation, recognition and financial support to student organizations is a regular part of the senate’s work.

Pictured above: (top row, left to right) Aiyana Rouse, Tylor Obermeyer and John Horner; (bottom row, left to right) Madolyn Clark and Payton French.